Her

So I just watched Her, and my oh my, was that film stunningly beautiful (both visually and orally). It tells the story of Theodore (played by Joaquin Phoenix), an ordinary man who is going through a pretty rough break-up. He then buys an artifically intelligent computer operating system, and gives her a female voice (voiced gorgeously by Scarlett Johanssen). Her name is Samantha, and within seconds, she begins to develop a blossoming relationship with Theodore, taking on the remnants of human consciousness. Throughout the film, Theodore and Samantha’s relationship progresses, hitting inevitable bumps in the road that plagues any coupling.

I absolutely loved this film. Major kudos to Spike Jonze for challenging himself to reach new creative heights. I think what I enjoyed most was watching Theodore and Samantha grow as individuals through the experiences they shared together…it made my heart all fuzzy! I also loved the film because through Samantha it highlighted how lucky we are to BE human. To feel all this overwhelming, pain-staking emotion, whether it be joy, sadness, anger, regret, love. There is a beauty in the ability to feel, and as Jonze reminds us, it is a beauty we often forget about with the hustle and bustle of life.

Side-note: I also loved Amy Adams in the film, as Theo’s unhappy friend/next-door neighbor. She has a great scene in the film where she says something along the lines of, “We’re only here for a short amount of time, so I wanna feel joy” and thus she concludes “Fuck it” (as in fuck the doubts and the worries and the judgement, and just LIVE!) (welcome advice for my impending trip)

All in all, a stunningly gorgeous film, go watch it!

Leave a Reply

