Music Crush Sundays: MISUN

Today, I’m debuting a new segment I’m dubbing “Music Crush Sundays”, where I highlight a music artist/band I’m digging every other week.

My latest music obsession this week undoubtedly belongs to MISUN, an amazing band coming out of Washington, DC. They describe their sound as ‘aquawave’, which they describe as “60’s rock & roll nostalgia with hip-hop, dance and a touch of spaghetti western”. Pretty much amazing, amirite!?

misun

The lead vocalist Misun Wojcik has a beautiful raspy voice that would lend itself well to anything, let alone a stunning blend of bluesy guitars and tropical electronica.

I’m most impressed by MISUN because they are able to perfectly combine so many different music genres, while still sounding cohesive. If I had to match them to anything I’ve heard in the past, imagine the Black Keys with a female vocalist + a touch of Kygo-like electronic beats + any Quentin Tarantino soundtrack.

MISUN has made their premiere this year at SXSW, and I’m sincerely hoping they blow up, cause damn, I haven’t been this impressed in awhile!

My favorite song at the moment:

Check out their soundcloud here: https://soundcloud.com/misun

Leave a Reply

